Anthony Green – Out & Proud Queer Black Gay Man

Anthony Green, Out & Proud Queer Black Gay Man
Anthony Green, Out & Proud Queer Black Gay Man

 

Blood is Thicker

The first time you cut me scarred the worse

I’d exposed my insides to you, my mother

Yet you dismissed me with a quick

As long as you don’t get Aids

A sudden jab that barely cut the skin

No blood was lost

 

The sharp remarks slit

More routinely and dug deeper

As long as you don’t look gay

Clean precise incisions

That broke open exactly where intended

 

You sliced through scabs

Spots where I had calloused

Harden by the previous butchering

I grew numb to the hemorrhaging

Being nipped and chopped was all I knew

As long as you don’t walk like a girl

 

I engraved myself with your razor

Never ruthless enough to shank the blade into you

Pierce your soul straight to the bone

Strike directly at your jugular

Like mother like son

Sling my own pointy edged weapon

Leaving raw pounds of your flesh on the floor

Allow crimson droplets to mature into pints

Watch you bleed out

I beg you to make your wounds mortal

Don’t simply nick me just enough that I feel it

Scream out that I disgust you if you truly love me

Please jam the knife through my heart

It’s more humane than another gash into my back

About Anthony Green:

Anthony Green is a MFA student at the University of Memphis. He is currently the Contest Coordinator for the Pinch Literary Journal where he organizes the “Caged Birds” writing contest, which publishes the work of students in the juvenile system as well as the alternative schools program. His work has been featured in the Spring 2013 issue of Black Magnolias Literary Journal as well as the Cat’s Meow for Writers and Readers.

Antony Green Queer Black Gay Man
Anthony Green, Out & Proud Queer Black Gay Man
